IMHO series: What I learned as a 1st timer Head of Quality Engineer

Ferawati Hartanti Pratiwi
3 min readApr 4, 2023

--

https://tsh.io/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/abc-qa-quality-assurance-software-testing-basics.jpg

Being in managerial position for the first time, how does it feel?

Non-Officially I’m being in leadership role when I become a Test Engineer Squad Leader (TSL) in my previous company. But being a Head of Quality Engineer is another level of leadership.

Per May 2022, my journey as a Head is started (almost 1 year ago 😊). Where should I start? What did I do? What do I have to learn? What do I need to improve? Etc. All those things filled my mind at that moment.

I’ve heard a lot of feedback to management since I also started as a Senior SDET at the same company. So I already have the basic idea where I have to start as a manager.

Lesson Learned

People vs Technical

I can do both. But of course sometimes I mess up in 1 thing. Sometimes I’m good at technical then I must be messing with people. And vice versa. That’s totally normal. But everyone is expect that I’m good ONLY with people then start to teaching them some of technical matters (delegation).

Honestly, every people is unique, right? I don’t think I can handle every people very well. But when I can’t handle it, I start to code or read technical article to neutralize my negative thoughts. Learning some technical thing is more fun rather than being required to understand different human characteristics. You don’t have to agree with me. That’s from my experience point of view.

Ready to be Hated by Anyone

When I apply a rule or policy. I have to be prepared to accept that not everyone agrees with that. Even though in every policy I have tried to think of every risk and its effect on everyone, everyone must have their own point of view. We just need to respond and fix it with deliberation.

Communication is IMPORTANT

Two-way communication is very important. I can present all my ideas (that I think are brilliant) but still people could speak up to their concern about my idea and how I respond it IS VERY IMPORTANT.

Expectations are Painful

I hope for feedback but honestly I don’t think I always ready or at least I don’t think that I’m ready to respond to the feedback nicely. My feelings and logic sometimes don’t work well together. I’m still trying to figure out how I can properly respond to that. 🫡

Mood Changer

Sometimes when the situation is not as expected, that I am also not enthusiastic but I must still be able to create a positive atmosphere for the people and my subordinates. But at one time I could have gone down and provided feedback representing the feelings of my subordinates.

(!Everyone can be a professional person) and that’s FINE

Silence is gold. Ever heard that?

Sometime we don't need to respond to all situations with a reply, for example debate with debate, satire with satire etc. There is no need to respond to all the negativity and burden your own mind. Aren’t there still a lot of things we need to improve instead of taking care of things that are less important? Didn’t mean to offend anyone.

Learning by Doing

Standard of Procedure, Way of Working, Managing Human etc. Trust me no one has taught me about all of that unless things have happened that require those things. Sometimes this method made me learn more quickly about managerial people than if I had received training first. But it also has a downside because if you have dealt with humans, your heart must have been hurt first.

https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/D5603AQEbI72L6vf5EA/profile-displayphoto-shrink_800_800/0/1674608971677?e=2147483647&v=beta&t=bho0C8rI029Dl4mWB3OknDHNNxYlCHnmNUmX4uwhMjE

Would you tell me how can I improve myself as Head of Quality Engineer in general? 🤗 — MperMperPisang.

Reference:

  • Personal experience

--

--

Ferawati Hartanti Pratiwi

Continuously striving to elevate QA standards with a quality-focused mindset